Application and Network Services Management with TOSCA 2.0

Topology and Orchestration Specification for Cloud Applications (TOSCA) enables users to manage the entire lifecycle of application and network services, from initial service design through service deployment to service management. TOSCA is widely used and vendor independent. It works across multiple clouds and network technologies, which allows architects to focus on application design and requirements without being bogged down by the ever-changing specificity of the infrastructure. In real-world implementations, it can be used to manage the lifecycle of Network Functions Virtualization functionalities as well as Function-as-a-Service. In this presentation, the speakers explain modern development paradigms of TOSCA: What it is used for, why we need it when we have already had many DevOps tools (e.g., Ansible, Puppet, Chef etc.), how it is different from Terraform, what is new in the upcoming version TOSCA 2.0, and a real-world implementation story from Open Telekom Cloud.

Dr. Vo is a technology enthusiast with more than 10 years of experience in cloud computing. His PhD research at the University of Plymouth, Purpose-based Encryption, has proposed a novel encryption protocol in Identity Management that protects privacy of personal data to be compliant with the General Data Protection Regulation of the European Union. At Open Telekom Cloud from Deutsche Telekom, he is leading the development of the Cloud Topology Designer – Design Once Run Anywhere, which enables users to focus on designing their cloud applications and deploy them across multi-cloud environments.

Beside his work, Dr. Vo is a hobby pianist with 12 years of classical music lessons.

Chris Lauwers is the Founder and Chief Executive Officer of Ubicity Corporation, a provider of modeldriven service lifecycle management systems. Chris also serves as the Chair of the OASIS TOSCA Technical Committee. Prior to Ubicity, Chris was Chief Technology Officer at Avistar Communications Corp from 2001 to 2012. He was also Avistar’s Vice President of Engineering from 1994 to 2001.

Chris has 25 years of experience designing and building networking and communications solutions for large enterprises and service providers. Over the course of his career, Mr. Lauwers has helped pioneer several modern networked communications and collaboration technologies. His PhD research at Stanford University led to one of the first Shared Window Systems, technology more commonly known today as Web Conferencing. At Avistar, he built the first globally-scaled deployments of desktop video conferencing, including deployments of interactive video in Virtual Desktop Infrastructure (VDI) environments. He also created the first “video extranet” enabling presence-based video calling between business partners over IP networks.

Chris holds a B.S. in Electrical Engineering from the KU Leuven of Belgium and M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science from Stanford University. He holds 91 patents in the areas of presence-based interactions, desktop video, recorded and live media at the desktop, multimedia documents, and data sharing.

This post is also available in: German

Application and Network Services Management with TOSCA 2.0

Die Topology and Orchestration Specification for Cloud Applications (TOSCA) ermöglicht Anwendern, den Lifecycle von Anwendungs- und Netzwerkdiensten zu verwalten, von anfänglichen Service Deployments bis hin zum Service-Management. TOSCA ist weit verbreitet und herstellerunabhängig. Es funktioniert über Clouds und Netzwerktechnologien, so dass sich die Architekten auf das Anwendungsdesign und die Anforderungen konzentrieren können, ohne von den sich ständig ändernden Besonderheiten der Infrastruktur aufgehalten zu werden. In realen Implementierungen kann es für die Verwaltung des Lebenszyklus von Network Functions Virtualization Funktionalitäten sowie Function-as-a-Service. In diesem Vortrag erläutern die Referenten moderne Entwicklungsparadigmen von TOSCA: Wofür wird es verwendet wofür es verwendet wird, warum wir es brauchen, wenn wir bereits viele DevOps-Tools haben (z.B. Ansible, Puppet, Chef etc.), wie es sich von Terraform unterscheidet, was in der kommenden Version TOSCA 2.0 neu ist, und eine reale Implementierungsgeschichte aus der Open Telekom Cloud.

Dr. Vo ist ein Technologie-Enthusiast mit mehr als 10 Jahren Erfahrung im Bereich Cloud Computing. Seine Doktorarbeit an der Universität Plymouth, Purpose-based Encryption, hat ein neuartiges Verschlüsselungsprotokoll für das Identitätsmanagement vorgeschlagen, das die Privatsphäre persönlicher Daten schützt und mit der General Data Protection Regulation der Europäischen Union entspricht. Bei Open Telekom Cloud der Deutschen Telekom leitet er die Entwicklung der Cloud Topology Designer – Design Once Run Anywhere, der es den Nutzern ermöglicht, sich auf das Design ihrer Cloud Anwendungen konzentrieren und diese in Multi-Cloud-Umgebungen einsetzen können.

Neben seiner Arbeit ist Dr. Vo Hobby-Pianist mit 12 Jahren Unterricht in klassischer Musik.

Chris Lauwers ist Gründer und Geschäftsführer der Ubicity Corporation, einem Anbieter von modellgesteuerten Service Lifecycle Management Systemen. Chris Lauwers ist außerdem Vorsitzender des OASIS TOSCA Technischen Komitees. Vor seiner Tätigkeit bei Ubicity war Chris von 2001 bis 2012 Chief Technology Officer bei Avistar Communications Corp. von 2001 bis 2012. Außerdem war er von 1994 bis 2001 Vice President of Engineering bei Avistar.

Chris verfügt über 25 Jahre Erfahrung in der Entwicklung und dem Aufbau von Netzwerk- und Kommunikationslösungen für Großunternehmen und Dienstanbieter. Im Laufe seiner Karriere hat Herr Lauwers dazu beigetragen, Pionierarbeit zu leisten mehrere moderne vernetzte Kommunikations- und Zusammenarbeitstechnologien. Seine Doktorarbeit an der Stanford University führte zu einem der ersten Shared-Window-Systeme, einer Technologie, die heute eher als heute als Web Conferencing bekannt ist. Bei Avistar baute er die ersten globalen Bereitstellungen von Desktop-Videokonferenzen auf, darunter auch Desktop-Videokonferenzen, einschließlich der Bereitstellung von interaktivem Video in Virtual Desktop Infrastructure (VDI) Umgebungen. Er schuf auch das erste „Video-Extranet“, das präsenzbasierte Videogespräche zwischen Geschäftspartnern über IP-Netzwerke.

Chris hat einen B.S. in Elektrotechnik von der KU Leuven in Belgien und einen M.S. und Ph.D. in Elektrotechnik und Informatik von der Stanford University. Er hält 91 Patente in den Bereichen den Bereichen präsenzbasierte Interaktionen, Desktop-Video, aufgezeichnete und Live-Medien auf dem Desktop, Multimedia-Dokumente und Datenaustausch

This post is also available in: Englisch