Developers love CI/CD: The Sec and Ops sequel

Continuous Integration and Delivery/Deployment helps speed up development and review workflows. Developers now can focus on code reliably tested in different environments. Once in a while the operations team gets paged on broken pipelines and jobs being stuck. Then the security audit has unveiled plain text secret exposure and dependency exploits.

The next horror story: The software cannot be deployed anymore since package dependencies are broken in a new distribution.

In this talk we take a different look and hear stories on making CI/CD pipelines more secure. Automated deployments and package/container repositories will also help to avoid redundant cycles and extra work hours.

In addition to that monitoring/observability combined with automation ensures to sleep in busy on-call times. No matter where you see yourself – in Dev, Sec or Ops.

Michael is a Developer Evangelist with 15+ years experience in ops and infrastructure management. He also is passionate about open source development (C++, C#, Go) and enjoys talking about CI/CD, monitoring/observability and security at events and meetups. Currently Michael is working at GitLab. When he is not engaging on social media, Michael enjoys building LEGO models.

This post is also available in: German

Developers love CI/CD: The Sec and Ops sequel

Kontinuierliche Integration und Bereitstellung/Bereitstellung trägt zur Beschleunigung der Entwicklung und Überprüfung der Arbeitsabläufe bei. Entwickler können sich nun auf Code konzentrieren, der in verschiedenen Umgebungen zuverlässig getestet wurde. Hin und wieder wird das Betriebsteam wegen defekter Pipelines und festgefahrener Jobs angepiept. Dann hat das Sicherheitsaudit Klartextgeheimnisse aufgedeckt und Abhängigkeiten ausgenutzt.

Die nächste Horrorgeschichte: Die Software kann nicht mehr eingesetzt werden, da die Paketabhängigkeiten in einer neuen Distribution gebrochen sind.

In diesem Vortrag werfen wir einen anderen Blick und hören Geschichten darüber, wie CI/CD-Pipelines sicherer gemacht werden können. Automatisierte Deployments und Paket-/Container-Repositories werden auch dazu beitragen, redundante Zyklen und zusätzliche Arbeitsstunden zu vermeiden.

Darüber hinaus sorgt die Überwachung/Beobachtbarkeit in Verbindung mit der Automatisierung dafür, dass man in Zeiten hoher Bereitschaftszeiten schlafen kann. Ganz gleich, wo Sie sich sehen – in Dev, Sec oder Ops.

Michael ist ein Entwickler-Evangelist mit über 15 Jahren Erfahrung in den Bereichen Operationen und Infrastrukturmanagement. Außerdem ist er leidenschaftlich an der Open-Source-Entwicklung (C++, C#, Go) interessiert und spricht gerne über CI/CD, Überwachung/Beobachtbarkeit und Sicherheit bei Veranstaltungen und Meetups. Derzeit arbeitet Michael bei GitLab. Wenn er sich nicht gerade mit sozialen Medien beschäftigt, baut Michael gerne LEGO-Modelle.

This post is also available in: Englisch