Puppet and the HashiStack

We all love infrastructure as code, we automate everything, but how many of us can really say we could destroy and recreate our core infrastructure without human intervention? Can you be sure there isn’t a DNS problem or that everything is done in the right order?

This talk guides the audience through a green fields exercise that sets up service discovery using Consul, infrastructure as code using Terraform, using images build with Packer, and configured using Puppet.

.Bram Vogelaar spent the first part of his career as a Molecular Biologist, he then moved on to supporting his peers by building tools and platforms for them with a lot of Open Source technologies. He now works as a DevOps Cloud Engineer at The Factory, whose mission is to solve customer’s cloud challenges and to transition their environments to the (public) cloud.

This post is also available in: German

Puppet and the HashiStack

Wir alle lieben Infrastructure as Code, wir automatisieren alles, aber wie viele von uns können wirklich sagen, dass wir unsere Kerninfrastruktur ohne menschliches Zutun zerstören und neu aufbauen könnten? Können Sie sicher sein, dass es kein DNS-Problem gibt oder dass alles in der richtigen Reihenfolge gemacht wird?

Dieser Vortrag führt die Teilnehmer durch eine Übung auf der grünen Wiese, bei der die Service-Erkennung mit Consul, die Infrastruktur als Code mit Terraform, die Verwendung von mit Packer erstellten Images und die Konfiguration mit Puppet eingerichtet werden.

Bram Vogelaar hat den ersten Teil seiner Karriere als Molekularbiologe verbracht und ist dann dazu übergegangen, seine Kollegen zu unterstützen, indem er für sie Tools und Plattformen mit vielen Open-Source-Technologien entwickelt. Jetzt arbeitet er als DevOps Cloud Engineer bei The Factory, dessen Aufgabe es ist, die Cloud-Herausforderungen der Kunden zu lösen und ihre Umgebungen in die (öffentliche) Cloud zu überführen.

This post is also available in: Englisch