Configuration templating vs configuration as code, 12th round

Im sorry to say that, but Infrastructure is everywhere; no matter if you are using k8s, GCP, AWS, or any other offering… you need to describe the infrastructure requirements your application needs to run… with code? Are we really using code, or are we back to configuration management? Should we?
We will be reviewing how we have been interacting with Cloud Providers in the last 10 years, using scripting, actual code, and configuration files. Code snippets will be supporting us in this time travel, while we will be blaming the Twelve-Factor App methodology (and ourselves?) given we ended up messing with templates… Some newer alternatives will be presented (Terrascript and Pulumi), including also the patterns we are applying in k8s (Helm, Kustomize and others), sharing finally some thoughts about the convenience of changing (or not?) the model.

Takeaways

  • Audience should be able to position different IaC models and complexities behind cloud deployments
  • We should acknowledge limitations and issues generated by describing infrastructure configuration with declarative languages, getting a clear idea of the pros and cons of each approach
  • The audience should leave the session with interest in playing with the new models and tools we will be presenting (mostly Pulumi), with the guidance also to the examples we will be providing, as well as having a better view of what the future of IaC may consist of.

“Senior SRE Engineer at Fastly, also part-time lecturer in La Salle University (DevOps program I had the honour to introduce), previously working as Staff Devops at Schibsted, NTT, Oracle (and others!), where I have been trying to code, build and maintain backend services, infrastructure and (automation) tools. In parallel, author and maintainer of tcpgoon and gcs-pit-restore, but also contributing to OSS as much as I can”

This post is also available in: German

Configuration templating vs configuration as code, 12th round

Es tut mir leid, das zu sagen, aber Infrastruktur ist überall; egal ob Sie k8s, GCP, AWS oder irgendein anderes Angebot verwenden… Sie müssen die Infrastrukturanforderungen beschreiben, die Ihre Anwendung ausführen muss… mit Code? Benutzen wir wirklich Code, oder sind wir wieder beim Konfigurationsmanagement? Sollten wir das tun?
Wir werden überprüfen, wie wir in den letzten 10 Jahren mit Cloud-Anbietern interagiert haben, indem wir Skripting, tatsächlichen Code und Konfigurationsdateien verwendet haben. Code-Schnipsel werden uns bei dieser Zeitreise unterstützen, während wir der Zwölf-Faktor-Anwendungsmethodik (und uns selbst?) die Schuld geben werden, da wir am Ende mit Vorlagen herumgepfuscht haben… Es werden einige neuere Alternativen vorgestellt (Terrascript und Pulumi), darunter auch die Muster, die wir in k8s anwenden (Helm, Kustomize und andere), und schließlich werden einige Gedanken über die Bequemlichkeit einer Änderung (oder nicht?) des Modells geäußert.

Ziele

  • Das Publikum sollte in der Lage sein, verschiedene IaC-Modelle und Komplexitäten hinter Cloud-Implementierungen zu positionieren
  • Wir sollten Einschränkungen und Probleme anerkennen, die durch die Beschreibung der Infrastrukturkonfiguration mit deklarativen Sprachen entstehen, und uns eine klare Vorstellung von den Vor- und Nachteilen jedes Ansatzes machen
  • Die Zuhörer sollten die Sitzung mit Interesse verlassen, um mit den neuen Modellen und Instrumenten zu spielen, die wir vorstellen werden (hauptsächlich Pulumi), mit der Anleitung auch zu den Beispielen, die wir geben werden, und um einen besseren Überblick darüber zu erhalten, wie die Zukunft von IaC aussehen könnte.

„Senior SRE-Ingenieur bei Fastly, auch Teilzeit-Dozent an der Universität La Salle (DevOps-Programm, das ich die Ehre hatte, vorzustellen), zuvor als Staff Devops bei Schibsted, NTT, Oracle (und anderen!) tätig, wo ich versucht habe, Backend-Dienste, Infrastruktur und (Automatisierungs-)Tools zu programmieren, aufzubauen und zu warten. Parallel dazu bin ich Autor und Maintainer von tcpgoon und gcs-pit-restore, leiste aber auch so viel Beitrag zu OSS, wie ich kann.“

This post is also available in: Englisch