Common Pitfalls in GitOps Workflows

GitOps describes the automated synchronisation of the state of cloud-native applications against a version-controlled reference state. As such, it takes a Git repository as the single source of truth, so that development and operations teams are working with the same set of tools. When implementing a GitOps workflow, however, you are met with several questions like:

How should I structure my repository for managing multiple instances of my applications?
How can I manage privileges for different teams?
How do I deal with sensitive data such as passwords?
In this talk, I will show that there is no one-size-fits-all answer to these questions. Instead, I will discuss multiple scenarios, so that you can choose which solution works best with your specific workflow.

Pascal Fries is an IT Consultant at ATIX AG in Munich, Germany. He supports customers in the automation of container platforms such as Docker and Kubernetes, including the management of these platforms themselves, as well as the development and delivery of applications to them. In particular, he specialises in DevOps practices and cloud native CI/CD. He also offers training, workshops, and webinars on Kubernetes and GitOps.

This post is also available in: German

Common Pitfalls in GitOps Workflows

GitOps beschreibt die automatisierte Synchronisierung des Zustands von Cloud-nativen Anwendungen mit einem versionskontrollierten Referenzzustand. Dabei wird ein Git-Repository als einzige Quelle der Wahrheit verwendet, sodass Entwicklungs- und Betriebsteams mit denselben Tools arbeiten. Bei der Implementierung eines GitOps-Workflows stellen sich jedoch verschiedene Fragen wie:

Wie sollte ich mein Repository für die Verwaltung mehrerer Instanzen meiner Anwendungen strukturieren?
Wie kann ich die Berechtigungen für verschiedene Teams verwalten?
Wie gehe ich mit sensiblen Daten wie Passwörtern um?
In diesem Vortrag werde ich zeigen, dass es auf diese Fragen keine allgemeingültige Antwort gibt. Stattdessen werde ich mehrere Szenarien erörtern, damit Sie entscheiden können, welche Lösung für Ihren spezifischen Arbeitsablauf am besten geeignet ist.

Pascal Fries ist IT-Berater bei der ATIX AG in München, Deutschland. Er unterstützt Kunden bei der Automatisierung von Container-Plattformen wie Docker und Kubernetes, einschließlich der Verwaltung dieser Plattformen selbst, sowie bei der Entwicklung und Bereitstellung von Anwendungen für diese Plattformen. Dabei ist er insbesondere auf DevOps-Praktiken und Cloud Native CI/CD spezialisiert. Er bietet auch Schulungen, Workshops und Webinare zu Kubernetes und GitOps an.

This post is also available in: Englisch