Code to Kubernetes: Deployment shouldn’t be an afterthought

Earlier, developers simply wrote their program, built it, and ran it. Today, developers need to also think of the various ways of running it whether it be as a binary on a machine (virtual most likely), by packaging it into a container, by making that container a part of a bigger deployment (K8s) or by deploying it into a serverless environment or a service mesh. However, these deployment options are not part of the programming experience for a developer. The developer has to write code in a certain way to work well in a given execution environment, and removing this from the programming problem isn’t good.

Ballerina is an open-source programming language with a built-in cloud technology integration helps developers write their application just work in Kubernetes. Its compiler can be extended to read annotations defined in the source code and generate artifacts to deploy your code into different clouds. These artifacts can be Dockerfiles, Docker images, Kubernetes YAML files, or serverless functions. This session will demonstrate how you can move from code to cloud by using the built-in Kubernetes annotation support in Ballerina.

Lakmal Warusawithana is the Senior Director – Developer Relations of WSO2. Lakmal has a long history of working in open source, cloud, and DevOps technologies and has been Vice President of Apache Stratos PaaS Project. Lakmal is an architect for containerization and deployment orchestration of Ballerina, an open-source programming language for network distributed application. Lakmal has also presented at numerous events, including ApacheCon, CloudOpen, QCon, JaxLondon, Cloud Expo, Cloudstack Collaboration Conference, WSO2Con, KubeCon, ContainerCamp, DeveloperWeek, API Summit and many tech meetups.

This post is also available in: German

Code to Kubernetes: Deployment shouldn’t be an afterthought

Früher schrieben Entwickler einfach ihr Programm, bauten es und führten es aus. Heute müssen die Entwickler auch an die verschiedenen Möglichkeiten denken, es auszuführen, sei es als Binärdatei auf einer Maschine (höchstwahrscheinlich virtuell), indem sie es in einen Container packen, indem sie diesen Container zu einem Teil eines größeren Deployments (K8s) machen oder indem sie es in einer serverlosen Umgebung oder einem Service-Mesh deployen. Diese Bereitstellungsoptionen sind jedoch nicht Teil der Programmiererfahrung eines Entwicklers. Der Entwickler muss auf eine bestimmte Art und Weise Code schreiben, um in einer gegebenen Ausführungsumgebung gut zu funktionieren, und dies aus dem Programmierproblem zu entfernen, ist nicht gut.

Ballerina ist eine Open-Source-Programmiersprache mit einer integrierten Cloud-Technologie-Integration, die Entwicklern hilft, ihre Anwendung zu schreiben und einfach in Kubernetes zu arbeiten. Ihr Compiler kann erweitert werden, um im Quellcode definierte Anmerkungen zu lesen und Artefakte zu erzeugen, um Ihren Code in verschiedenen Clouds einzusetzen. Diese Artefakte können Dockerfiles, Docker-Images, Kubernetes YAML-Dateien oder serverlose Funktionen sein. In dieser Sitzung wird demonstriert, wie Sie mit Hilfe der in Ballerina integrierten Unterstützung für Kubernetes-Annotationen vom Code in die Cloud wechseln können.

Lakmal Warusawithana ist der Senior Director – Developer Relations des WSO2. Lakmal Warusawithana blickt auf eine lange Geschichte der Arbeit mit Open Source-, Cloud- und DevOps-Technologien zurück und war Vizepräsident des Apache Stratos PaaS-Projekts. Lakmal ist ein Architekt für die Containerisierung und Bereitstellungsorchestrierung von Ballerina, einer Open-Source-Programmiersprache für netzwerkverteilte Anwendungen. Lakmal hat auch auf zahlreichen Veranstaltungen präsentiert, darunter ApacheCon, CloudOpen, QCon, JaxLondon, Cloud Expo, Cloudstack Collaboration Conference, WSO2Con, KubeCon, ContainerCamp, DeveloperWeek, API Summit und viele technische Meetups.

This post is also available in: Englisch