Automation: Forget the technology, focus on the culture!

Automation is currently a focus topic for many IT departments. It is often overlooked that successful automation projects do not depend on the transition to a new technology – but the cultural change within the department, the company.
In this presentation, participants will learn that it is important to accept all users of the system, why islands are not a good idea for automation, and that automation does not have to take care of individual servers, but business processes.

Roland Wolters is Principal Technical Marketing Manager for Red Hat’s management and automation tools. As such, he is responsible for the representation, communication and further development of Ansible and other related solutions inside and outside Red Hat with an orientation towards the technical marketing aspects.

This post is also available in: German

Automation: Forget the technology, focus on the culture!

Automatisierung ist derzeit ein Fokus-Thema vieler IT-Abteilungen. Dabei wird häufig übersehen, dass bei erfolgreichen Automatisierungs-Projekten nicht der Wechsel zu einer neuen Technologie entscheidend ist – sondern der kulturelle Wandel innerhalb der Abteilung, des Unternehmens.
In diesem Vortrag werden Teilnehmer lernen, dass es auf die Akzeptanz aller Nutzer des Systems ankommt, warum Inseln für die Automatisierung keine gute Idee sind, und dass die Automatisierung sich nicht um einzelne Server, sondern um Geschäftsprozesse kümmern muss.

Roland Wolters ist Principal Technical Marketing Manager für die Management- und Automatisierungstools von Red Hat. Als solcher ist er verantwortlich für die Repräsentation, Kommunikation und Weiterentwicklung von Ansible und anderen verwandten Lösungen innerhalb und außerhalb von Red Hat mit einer Ausrichtung auf die technischen Marketingaspekte.

This post is also available in: Englisch