Automation pipeline on Chromebooks for enterprises

Chrome is the by far most used Web Browser with around 68% market share. On top Chrome is one of the biggest open source repositories world wide. Chromebooks are computers based on open-source projects ChromeOS and Chrome. This talk will look into the automation pipeline of Chrome and ChromeOS specifically focusing on the enterprise customers. We will dive more detailed into the technical implementations of Google to produce a new version every 6 weeks.

To achieve 6 weeks release cycles automation in all areas of the release cycle is crucial and therefore we dive more deeply into the background, used tools as well as some learnings from the process.

Marc Grimme believes it is important to find the right balance between technical challenges, new developments and a group of people (some call it an organization) in order to use this mixture to their advantage and the advantage of the customer.

He started programming in the 1980s and has been trying to keep up to date ever since. Marc Grimme loves to use programming languages to develop a product that can make a difference for the customer.

From 1995 to 2013 he worked as founder and CTO at ATIX. There he learned a lot about the development of software products in the world of data centers. He had the opportunity to support sales, implementation and maintenance of the products developed by ATIX.
In 2013 he left ATIX and started working as CTO at Fidor Solutions AG and in 2019 he became Engineering Manager at Google.

This post is also available in: German

Automation pipeline on Chromebooks for enterprises

Chrome ist der bei weitem am meisten genutzte Web Browser mit ca 68% Marktanteil und zugleich eines der weltweit größten Open Source Repositories. Chromebooks sind auf den Open Source Projekten ChromeOS und Chrome basierende Computer. Dieser Vortrag stellt die Automatisierungs Pipeline von Chrome und ChromeOS speziell für Enterprise Kunden vor und beschreibt die technischen Maßnahmen, die von Google ergriffen werden um alle 6 Wochen eine neu Version diesen Kunden zur Verfügung zu stellen.

Automatisierung in allen Bereichen des Releases ist dafür unabdingbar. Der Vortrag soll außerdem zeigen wie kritisch Automatisierung für derartig große Projekte ist und wie eine Skalierung umgesetzt werden kann. Eingesetzte Tools sowie Learnings aus dem Prozess kommen auch nicht zu kurz.

Marc Grimme ist es wichtig, die richtige Balance zwischen technischen Herausforderungen, neuen Entwicklungen und einer Gruppe von Menschen (einige nennen das Organisation) zu finden, um diese Mischung zu ihrem Vorteil und dem Vorteil des Kunden zu nutzen.

Er begann in den 1980er Jahren mit der Programmierung und versucht seitdem, auf dem Laufenden zu bleiben. Marc Grimme liebt es, Programmiersprachen zu verwenden, um ein Produkt zu entwickeln, das für den Kunden einen Unterschied machen kann.

Von 1995 bis 2013 arbeitete er als Gründer und CTO bei ATIX. Dort hat er viel über die Entwicklung von Softwareprodukten in der Welt der Rechenzentren gelernt. Er hatte die Möglichkeit, den Verkauf, die Implementierung und Wartung der von der ATIX entwickelten Produkte zu unterstützen.
Im Jahr 2013 verließ er ATIX und begann als CTO bei der Fidor Solutions AG zu arbeiten und im Jahr 2019 wurde er Engineering Manager bei Google.

This post is also available in: Englisch